Long way home

Image

Hello dear fans and friend(s?)

I wanted to start by sharing one of my all time favorite songs. You can probably tell from the title of my post (and the inserted picture), but it’s called Long way home by ATB. Now, Germany is known for a lot of things: brats, beer (I want to go to Oktoberfest!), cars (Audi <3), and ATB. Haha looking over my list of things from Germany, makes me really want to go! (Go to Germany on my bucket list – check)
Anywho, I’m not going to devote my precious blog with a review of this song. (But if I really wanted to I could!) Anyways, the reason this song fits me so well is because well..I’m a long way home (13-14 hours away) give or take πŸ™‚ That being said, I think ‘home is where the heart is’ definitely applies here (err, yes, I believe that sentence was grammatically correct). I’m on the journey of life and I am looking for a place to call ‘home.’ Whether that ‘home’ will be in Korea or Texas, no one knows (not even me~)

I find it highly interesting that time seems to be ‘faster’ over here here in the East i.e. Korea. First, there’s no daylight savings time (DST for those more informed πŸ˜‰ ) As such, the age system is also whack over here. I gained 2 years the moment I stepped on Korean soil! Apparently, the time you spend in your mother’s..belly(9?) counts as a year and so the moment you are born you are 1 year old. Then, when the calendar turns to the next year, you gain another year thus you gain a total of 2 additional years. (Whereas us Smarties* in the West only get older when our birthdays pass)

*Smarties are an officially licensed brand blah dee blah blah. Gosh I suddenly crave me some Smarties now**

I’m legally 26 years young by birth but 28 in Corea~(apparently Corea used to be the original spelling before the Japanese occupation changed it to Korea because J comes before K..) jk? but seriously, I’m freaking 28 in Korea! That’s like the higher end of the 20’s! 😦 I have my ‘helpful’ Korean relatives aka family telling me I need to ‘settle’ down or whatevs. And I tell them ‘yeah yeah sure sure’ but I’m thinkin [WHAT!? I’m too young for this shizzle]

I just got home after another long day of the daily grind I mean work. The daily grind, I mean work is tough but I’m getting used to it (at a snail’s crawl) and I’ve noticed some things. Maybe this stuff was around when I was still a student but there are so much politics involved. For example, the various cliques at work. Who you know, who you are close with, et al. (on a side note: who to suck up to, but I don’t like sucking at anything so I don’t do that :P) The motto of my blog is to ‘Look forward, so what~why not?’ I am trying my darndest to make that my motto of life. My old blog’s motto used to be ‘Through the looking glass’ but I thought to myself, that’s bullsnap. Looking back only takes you..back. I need to stay positive, and keep on truckin along! The highway of life is long (average lifespan is 80 years for males I believe). I’ve only just passed the quarter mark it seems, gotta make the most of it.

The folks at work (ie the ones who were in a relationship) kindly reminded me that tomorrow was Valentine’s Day. I won’t go bashing Valentine’s Day even though I’m single and I could. What I will bash is the stuff my team did to ‘celebrate’ Valentine’s Day. Basically, we made a Valentine’s Day card for the company owner and his right hand man (basically Dr. Evil and No. 2 haha jk?) Now my team is full of creative geniuses (aka girls) and one in particular suggested we leave lipstick impressions on the card so that when we (I and a coworker) go to present it to the owner, he (Dr. Evil haha I’m kidding!) can analyze and determine whose lipmarks are whose~ I won’t go into the details, but it involved lipstick (Pics coming soon!..maybe)

I think it’s funny just how widespread American mass media and values have infected the world. Now I know I am only speaking for a tiny speck on the map (*cough peninsula cough*), but I am sure Valentine’s Day is celebrated pretty much worldwide (or not if said country is ruled by a fat guy whose surname is Kim ^.^

I had plans to make plans for Valentine’s Day but suffice it to say they didn’t formulate. But that’s okay because I can spend all day working I mean dating with my creative genius (read: female) coworkers! woe is me~hehe they should call me Cloud ‘Edgar’ Ess

I’m going to enjoy tomorrow for what it is, just another day to look forward to and give thanks for. To Heaven above, I give thanks for this bread yada yada, etc et al.

I will close by referencing you (the reader) back to my picture. ATB looks like he’s taking a walk, and he’s probably a Long way home. Story of my life~ just keep walkin cuz I’m Awesome!

good night World Wide Web, Happy Valentine’s Day to those who ‘celebrate’ it. Seize the day!!

2 comments

  1. Since it’s taking you so long to update your blog, I can’t wait to leave another comment. So… here’s some food for thought. We are now older than Nakago (from you know where). He’s 25, btw, and is the oldest of the bunch. When we watched it (you know what), 10 years ago, we were more around Miaka’s age. I remember you saying back then that Nakago was old. Well… buddy… how do you feel now? mwahahaha!

Leave a Reply

